• photo1
  • photo2
  • photo3
  • photo4
  • photo5
  • photo6
  • photo8
  • photo11

In keeping with their ethical obligations, and going a step further, the lawyers of the Altea partnership intend to maintain a policy of total transparency toward their clients, implying maximum predictability in terms of expenses and fees pricing.

The lawyers of the Altea law firm are committed to, insofar as possible, discussing in detail the financial implications of each phase of their client's case with them. Their line of conduct also calls for them to consistently take into account financial concerns, including the amount of their expenses and fees, when counselling their clients on a strategy.

The calculation method used for expenses and fees is based on the basic principles below.

Detailed calculation assumptions for expenses and fees for each case will be discussed with the client at the time the case is opened and their express approval will be required.

Fees

Fees remunerate the lawyer for the service they provide, that is, all of the tasks they must complete in order to successfully fulfil the mission entrusted to them. Some of these tasks are clearly apparent. Many others essential for the effective execution of the mission are less so.

Among other things, services can include reading documents and reviewing files, meetings, legal research, verbal and written consultations, telephone conversations, preparing and writing pleadings (summons, submissions, memorandums, etc.), travel and appearances at hearings, pleadings, wait time at hearings, etc.).

The lawyers involved in a case will keep a complete record of the services provided. This enables the creation, at any time, of a precise statement of all work done and the cost.

Unless there is a special formula tied to specific circumstances, Altea's lawyers will calculate fees billed using an hourly rate.

A base hourly rate is set for the lawyer in charge of the case. If required, tiered pricing is provided for partners, colleagues registered on the roll, and trainees. The base rate for each category of lawyer involved will be applied taking the client's situation into account. In this respect, special attention will be paid to private individuals and members of the non-profit sector. The exact rates applicable to each case will be agreed at the start of the client relationship.

Hourly rates can be adjusted when a case requires significant specialisation, emergency work, or when the result obtained is particularly favourable to the client, notably in terms of financial gain ("success fee"). In some instances, the firm's lawyers can suggest billing based on a set fee for each phase of the procedure (for simple or repetitive procedures such as hearings at the CGRA, affidavits, etc.). These specificities must, however, be expressly agreed with the client when the case is opened and, unless the lawyer confirms otherwise in writing, the straight hourly rate will be applied.

Expenses

Independently of the legal service provided by the lawyer in charge of a case and, potentially, their colleagues, the handling of the case will entail many expenses, either inherent to it or related to the operation of the law firm. A portion of these expenses are covered by the fees billed. Other expenses, directly related to the expenditures incurred by the case, will be billed in addition to the actual fees.

Two calculation formulas for expenses are available to clients based on the practice of the lawyers involved. In either case, the firm's lawyers commit to capping expenses for each fee statement at maximum 25% of the amount of fees billed. Experience shows that, even with moderate hourly rates, expenses generally amount to between 15 and 20% of the fees billed (excluding disbursements).

The first method is to charge at actual cost. Therefore we suggest the following fee grid in principle (amounts exclude VAT) :

  • Fixed expenses to open the case : €50
  • Correspondence : €9 (plus €7.50 for registered post and €2 per additional recipient)
  • Other typing : €15 per page
  • E-mail : €3
  • Travel : €0.4/km
  • Telephone (per minute) : €0.5 (fixed line) and €0.75 (mobile)
  • Fax : €0.5
  • Photocopies, per page : €0.3

The second method consists in calculating semi-fixed expenses. In this case, the lawyer will offer to calculate the expenses related to handling the case based on €40 for opening and basic administration of the case plus €15 for every typed page.  This assessment method encompasses all expense items that are calculated on an actual basis using the other method.

Regardless of the formula selected, proceedings expenses and other potential expenditures (bailiff and registry expenses, administrative costs for civil status documents and other documents, technical counselling fees, etc.) are either billed directly by the third party (bailiff, translator, expert, etc.) or added to the bill based on receipts.

Potential third party involvement

Prior to contacting a lawyer, it's essential that the client check if they can benefit from the involvement of a third party payer, for example, through a "legal protection" insurance policy.  After first informing the lawyer to whom their case is assigned, the client should then immediately initiate the steps required by the third party payer to request that they cover all or a portion of the services and expenses incurred.

The client is responsible for any fees and expenses over and above the amount paid by the third party payer. This is also true in the event that the third party payer refuses to pay for services rendered.

Billing

Based on what is agreed with the lawyer handling the case, requests for an advance payment may be made at the beginning or during the course of the work. They shall be immmediately payable and shall constitute an advance payment of the expenses and fees incurred in the handling of the case. The amounts of the advance payment shall be deducted from the statements of expenses and fees that are subsequently submitted.

The statements of fees and expenses and any requests for advance payment shall be submitted in light of the progress of the case. The frequency to which Altea lawyers commit enables clients to remain abreast of the costs incurred by their case so that they can better manage their payments. The statements are fully representative of the progress of work and of the expenses and charges outstanding on the day of the request. A detailed report of the services and expenses will be attached. With the exception of the first advance, and unless there is a special agreement in place, notably with respect to spreading payments, all intermediate and final expense and fees bills shall be payable in principle within 15 or 30 days, as specified.

DMC Firewall is a Joomla Security extension!

• photo1
  • photo2
  • photo3
  • photo4
  • photo5
  • photo6
  • photo8
  • photo11

Dans le respect de leurs obligations déontologiques et en allant même au-delà de celles-ci, les avocats de l’association Altea entendent adopter à l’égard de leurs clients une politique de transparence totale, impliquant une prévisibilité maximale, en matière de tarification de frais et honoraires.

Les avocats de l’association Altea s’engagent ainsi, au maximum de leurs possibilités, à envisager avec leurs clients, à chaque stade de l’évolution d’un dossier, les incidences financières les plus précises de celui-ci. Ils ont aussi pour ligne de conduite de systématiquement prendre en compte l’élément financier, en ce compris le coût de leurs frais et honoraires, dans la stratégie à conseiller à leurs clients.

Le mode de calcul de leurs frais et honoraires s’appuie sur les principes de base qui suivent.

Le contenu détaillé, pour chaque dossier, des bases de calcul de leurs frais et honoraires est convenu, dès l’ouverture du dossier, avec le client et en recueillant expressément l’accord de celui-ci.

Les honoraires

Les honoraires rémunèrent la prestation de service réalisée par l'avocat, à savoir tous les devoirs qu’il doit effectuer pour mener à bien la mission qui lui est confiée. Certains de ces devoirs sont directement visibles. Beaucoup d’autres tâches, essentielles pour l'exercice effectif de cette mission, sont moins apparentes.

A titre non exhaustif, ces prestations peuvent comprendre la lecture des pièces et l’examen des dossiers, les réunions, les recherches juridiques, les consultations verbales ou écrites, les entretiens téléphoniques, la rédaction et la préparation des actes de procédure (citations, conclusions, mémoires, …), les déplacements et comparutions aux audiences, les plaidoiries, le temps d’attente aux audiences, ...

Les avocats intervenant dans un dossier tiennent un relevé complet de prestations qui permet, à tout moment, d’établir une liste précise des devoirs effectués et de leur coût.

Sauf formule particulière liée à des circonstances spécifiques, les avocats du cabinet Altea calculent les honoraires réclamés sur la base d’un taux horaire.

Un taux horaire de base est fixé pour les prestations de l’avocat titulaire du dossier. Le cas échéant, des taux différenciés sont précisés pour les associés, les collaborateurs inscrits au tableau et les collaborateurs stagiaires. Les taux de base, pour chacune des catégories d’avocats concernés, sont appliqués en tenant compte de la situation du client. En ce sens, une attention particulière est portée aux particuliers et aux acteurs du secteur associatif. Les taux précis applicables à chaque dossier sont convenus au début de la relation avec le client.

Ces taux horaires peuvent être adaptés lorsque l’affaire nécessite une grande spécialisation, une intervention en urgence, ou lorsque le résultat obtenu est particulièrement favorable au client, notamment au regard de son enjeu financier (« success fee »). Dans certaines situations, les avocats du cabinet peuvent proposer de facturer sur la base d’un forfait par phase de la procédure (dans des procédures simples ou répétitives telles que pour une audition au CGRA, pour un acte de notoriété, …). Ces particularités doivent cependant être expressément convenues avec le client au début du dossier et, sauf si l’avocat confirme autre chose par écrit, c’est la formule du taux horaire simple qui sera appliquée.

Les frais

Indépendamment de la prestation de service juridique réalisée par l’avocat traitant et éventuellement ses collaborateurs, le traitement d’un dossier engendre de nombreux frais, inhérents à celui-ci ou liés à l’exploitation d’un cabinet d’avocats. Une partie de ces frais sont pris en charge via les honoraires facturés. D’autres frais, en lien direct avec les charges afférentes au dossier, sont portés en compte complémentairement aux honoraires proprement dits.

Deux formules de calcul des frais sont proposées aux clients, en fonction de la pratique des avocats concernés. Dans les deux cas, les avocats du cabinet s’engagent à plafonner, dans chaque état, les frais à un maximum de 25 % du montant des honoraires réclamés. La pratique démontre que le coût des frais est plutôt situé, même avec des taux horaires raisonnables, entre 15 et 20 % du montant des honoraires.

La première méthode conduit à imputer des frais réels. La grille de frais proposée est alors la suivante (montants hors tva) :

  • frais administratifs de dossier : 50 €
  • correspondance : 9 € (majorée de 7,50 € pour un envoi recommandé et de 2€ par destinataire supplémentaire)
  • autre dactylographie : 15 € par page
  • courrier électronique : 3 €
  • déplacements : 0,4 € / km
  • téléphone (par minute) : 0,5 € (fixe) et 0,75 € (GSM)
  • fax : 0,5 €
  • photocopies par page : 0,3€

La seconde méthode conduit à calculer des frais semi-forfaitaires. Dans ce cas, l’avocat propose de calculer les frais liés à l’exploitation du dossier à raison de 40 € pour l’ouverture et la gestion administrative de base du dossier, puis de 15 € pour toute page dactylographiée. Cette méthode d’évaluation englobe alors l’ensemble des postes de frais, qui sont calculés sur une base réelle selon l’autre méthode.

Quelle que soit la formule choisie, les frais de procédure et autres débours éventuels (frais d'huissier ou de greffe, coûts administratifs de pièces d'état civil ou d'autres documents, honoraires de conseils techniques,…) sont soit réclamés directement par le tiers intervenant (huissier, traducteur, expert,…), soit portés en compte en supplément sur la base de pièces justificatives.

La possibilité d’intervention d’un tiers payant

Avant le premier contact avec l’avocat, il est essentiel que le client vérifie s’il peut bénéficier de l'intervention totale ou partielle d'un tiers payant, par exemple, en raison de la souscription d’une assurance dite « protection juridique ». Non sans l’avoir signalé à l’avocat appelé à traiter son dossier, le client est alors invité à entamer, sans attendre, les démarches requises auprès de ce tiers payant pour solliciter la prise en charge de tout ou partie des prestations et frais.

Le montant des honoraires et frais se situant au-delà de l'intervention du tiers payant reste à charge du client. Il en va de même en cas de refus d’intervention du tiers payant si des prestations ont dû être effectuées.

La facturation

En fonction des convenances prises avec l’avocat en charge de votre dossier, une demande de provision peut être adressée en tout début d’intervention. Elle est payable au grand comptant et couvre forfaitairement les premiers devoirs requis. Son montant est déduit du premier état de frais et honoraires envoyé.

Par la suite, des états de frais et honoraires, le cas échéant intermédiaires, sont adressés compte tenu de l’évolution du dossier. La fréquence d’envoi à laquelle s’engagent les avocats du cabinet Altea permet au client de suivre les coûts engendrés par son dossier et de mieux répartir les paiements. Ces états sont parfaitement représentatifs de l'état d'avancement des devoirs ainsi que de la hauteur des frais et débours exposés au jour de la demande. Un listing détaillé des prestations et des frais y est joint. A l’exception de la première provision, et sauf accord particulier, notamment en termes d’étalement des paiements, tout état de frais et honoraires intermédiaire ou définitif est payable dans les quinze jours.

DMC Firewall is a Joomla Security extension!